Ab-stractions

April 2, 2007

Prong set cabochon

Filed under: Uncategorized — by serendipper @ 11:09 pm

This is my first attempt at a prong setting. The cabochon is a flat back marble with scrapbook paper glued to it. I ran copper foil around the edge too. I used a swirl ornament hook as the base, and wrapped 20g silver craft wire around it for the prongs. I do not like the craft wire. It is too stiff. My prongs aren’t neat, and I can’t get them to lay flat. I didn’t wrap the whole ornament hook either. I think I will do that next time. I have 24 g silver craft wire that’s softer, but I worry about it being stiff enough for the prongs. The marble is about 1.25″ diameter.

Front:

Back:

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

