Ab-stractions

September 25, 2007

Necklace Project

Filed under: Uncategorized — by serendipper @ 8:34 pm

I bought these copper spacers, dyed magnesite beads, and the bone pendant from Turquoise Magpie, and this weekend at the Bead Market I searched for some beads to go with them to make a chunky necklace. I found some round bone beads and some yellow beads (not sure if they are jade or agate).

I started working on the necklace, and after some discussion with my design consultant (my sister-in-law), and after sleeping on it, the design is changing. The yellow beads throw the magnesite out of balance. I had thought of adding another strand of green jade, but have now decided against it. These will be two separate necklaces. Both are pretty enough on their own.

In case you are wondering what I’m doing with the copper wire, I’m wrapping the Beadalon to cover it and the crimp for a finished look. I will make copper clasps and a copper bail for the pendant.

My finished piece never looks like what I originally intended to make. Every project always evolves as I go along.

1 Comment »

  1. Hi Abby,
    Congragulations on the townhome. Very pretty choice on the beads for your necklace. I would try to string some goldtoned seed beads through the opening of your focal bead and use as your bail.

    Just got back from L.A. so this might be a bit late in answering your request for suggestions.

    Take care and good luck with your new home.

    Peace,
    Inez N

    Comment by Inez Negrete — October 17, 2007 @ 1:20 pm |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

