Ab-stractions

May 20, 2010

Photography

Filed under: Uncategorized — by serendipper @ 12:59 am

I posted once before about my photography set up, but I’ll add a little bit more. I moved, so I don’t have the nice 5 bulb monster dining room light anymore. I use 3 lamps with 3 kinds of bulbs: one above and 2 from the side. I still use my taped together craft boxes. I stack boxes to get the height I need, then I cap it with the taped part. I use scrapbook paper as my backdrop, experimenting with different colors of metallic. When using a paper background, be mindful of it’s grain or if it’s printed. The grain or the dot pattern can show up in digital photos, and it’s not visible to the naked eye.

I recommend Black and White Photography, by Henry Horenstein for an easy to understand description of aperture and depth of field. Even if you have an all auto camera, you’ll have a better understanding of what’s going on when you take pictures. It’s pretty cheap used on Amazon. The new edition has info on digital. I bought mine in 1992, back in the dark ages! I have the benefit of a photography degree, and I have experience assisting a professional photographer. You don’t need a degree though!

Here are my concerns when taking pictures:

  • enough lighting
  • camera shake
  • focus
  • framing

I’ve taken enough pictures with my camera to know that 3 lamps is enough lighting. I don’t use a tripod, but I prop my camera up on something steady when I’m taking the pictures. I know that with the low light, my camera’s aperture is going to be wide open, so what’s going to be in focus is shallow. My camera focuses on what’s in the center of the frame, so I will  focus and hold the button on different parts of my jewelry, then move my camera back to where the whole piece is centered in the frame and press down on the button fully to take the picture. I do this for several shots, and it’s called bracketing. When I’m taking photos, I’m paying attention to the position of the jewelry on the background and how it looks in the frame. I don’t want to have any trouble later when I’m cropping my photos.

I focused on the pendant and the beads in the back are out of focus.

I aimed for the middle and the edges are slightly blurry. This is the shot I used.

Experimental shot. I needed a 4th light from below for the pendant, but my lamp shorted out and the cord started smoking! The light on the right is too hot and blows out the white. Other than that, the picture came out pretty well! When I try this again, I will move the craft boxes and lights further away from the stand. I will also add a 4th light. It will not have to be very bright.

I hope this helps, and feel free to ask me any questions.

2 Comments »

  1. Thank you.. now this I understood a lot more. I have one of those hold the button digital cameras… I think you hold down to focus then click… I will look it up for my particular camera. Should I be shooting in marco setting?
    Thanks again… for this post, the other and the info and help on FB.

    Comment by Meredith Crosby — August 22, 2010 @ 8:41 pm |Reply

  2. As we are all discussing Photography Ab-stractions, Others prefer the photographer to stay for parts of the reception to snap photos of family, the wedding party dances, and the bride and groom interacting with their guests. Even if you only want the photographer at the ceremony and for a few minutes afterward, you’ll have to book in advance because the entire day could very well be booked by another couple.

    Comment by new jersey photographer — January 26, 2011 @ 6:11 am |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

