Ab-stractions

April 22, 2011

Copper Swirl, Amethyst, and Abalone

Filed under: Uncategorized — by serendipper @ 10:45 pm

Last year I played around with heavy gauge copper wire, bending it into different shapes and wiring on different beads. I just sold this abalone, amethyst, and pearl pendant to a coworker. I realized I didn’t have a picture of it, so I took my homemade photo cube to work and took this picture in the trunk of my car. You read that right, in the trunk of my car! I set up my shot, waited for the sun to go behind a cloud and snapped two pics. I think it came out really well.

copper_wire_wrapping_abalone_pearl_amethyst_pendant_chain

I didn’t have matching earrings already made, so I whipped these up for my coworker. I thought miniature versions of the pendant would be really cute. The pearls dangle and swing freely. I took this photo in my home studio set up. I had to walk away for 5 minutes to wait for the earrings to stop swinging.

http://ab-stractions.com/earrings/copper_wire_wrapping_abalone_pearl_amethyst_earrings

I really like these copper shapes and want to do more.  I bought The Great Book of Celtic Patterns by Lora S. Irish, and I hope to translate some Celtic patterns into copper wire shapes.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

